Distinguished Service Award

This annual award is presented to individuals who have contributed dedicated and important service to the software engineering community. The award typically goes to a single person but can also be assigned to multiple people for joint contributions.

Recipients receive a plaque engraved with their name and signed by the chair of SIGSOFT and share a $1000 honorarium. The award is presented by the SIGSOFT chair at ICSE during ICSE's award presentation session. The award recipient(s) each receive support for travel to ICSE up to $2500 within their home continent and up to $3000 outside their home continent, including airfare, hotel, and conference registration for ICSE.

The selection committee is appointed by the SIGSOFT chair and consists of a combination of recent recipients of the award and current SIGSOFT executive committee members. The committee solicits nominations from the software engineering community in a variety of ways including announcements in SIGSOFT's newsletter, Software Engineering Notes, and postings on appropriate newsgroups and websites. The committee considers all external nominations, plus any internal nominations from members of the committee, in the context of the nominees' specific and general service contributions to the overall software engineering community.

Criteria that the committee considers in evaluating nominations include:

  1. Service to ACM SIGSOFT
  2. Service to the software engineering community outside of SIGSOFT
  3. Service to broadening participation of underrepresented groups in software engineering
  4. Service to students
  5. Length of time serving the software engineering community
  6. Other service contributions

To submit a nomination for the award, please use the awards nomination portal. Nominations are due no later than December 15 of each year.

If you have questions about this award, please contact sigsoft-service-award (at) acm (dot) org.


2021Tao Xie, Peking University, for outstanding service contributions to the software engineering community, including substantial activities on SIGSOFT history, broadening participation in software engineering, and successful chairing of technical events
2020Nenad Medvidović
2019Matt Dwyer
2018David S. Rosenblum
2017Laura Dillon
2016Martin Glinz
2015Bashar Nuseibeh
2014Leon Osterweil
2013Wilhelm Schäfer
2012Alexander Wolf
2011Jeff Kramer
2010Mary Lou Soffa
2009Stuart Zweben
2008John C. Knight
2007David Notkin
2006Carlo Ghezzi
2005Richard N. Taylor
2004Will Tracz
2003Axel van Lamsweerde
2002Lori Clarke
2001Kouichi Kishida
2000Marvin Zelkowitz
1999Bill Riddle
1998Bruce Barnes
1997Peter Neumann
1996Rick Adrion
1995Tony Wasserman



  • Will Tracz (chair)
  • Laurie Dillon
  • Mike Wing